Rough Drift

"Small" writing challenges for my small writing talent. Hotel note pads are the only space allowed. Let's see if I can strip it down and tighten it up to learn something. Improving my skill of weird fiction.

3.) Small Town Man

20150807_144048[1]

I was raised in a town where a majority went to church. They believed things on T.V. without proof, like wrestling. Friends and family voted the same because of their similar demographic beliefs. Not red meat? That’s communist health food. It wasn’t entirely a rural community, but close enough to fall in step with the crowd or the crowd would talk about you.

Imagine living in that. Where the grocery store always has someone to bump into, “Hi! How’s your mom?” and discuss their church group or school vents. I couldn’t. I was immune. My first post-university job even said so. I passed a test from my boss, and no drive around to reservoirs feeding these small towns, just like where I grew up. I now pour vials of orange in the waters, similar to what I swam in as a boy. These small towns continue thinking and believing the same things they did when I was young, as a whole, just like my old town. The office computers are right. Can’t have too much variance, it throws off the whole model.

(Author’s notes) Cincinnati, OH: August 6th, 2015. I was thinking about my past when I was a flight instructor. One of the charter pilots back then was telling the story of a line guy (who fuels private planes) that totally believed every single wrestling event. He went on to describe what he said:

“Jake the snake! Oh Jake the snake killed Andre the Giant! Oh no it wasn’t a heart attack. Andre was afraid of snakes and when Jake put his snake around Andre, Andre was so scared! That’s what gave him the heart attack!”

I thought about people I have met from smaller towns and how the town seems to exist at the same level. Same demographic in charge. Same thoughts and how that worked where I grew up in High School. Independent thought has severe pressure from your class mates. Same thing exists in a small town. I wondered why. I wondered if perhaps, someone was making that happen, instead of social pressure being the culprit.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 7, 2015 by in fiction and tagged , , , .
