Rough Drift

"Small" writing challenges for my small writing talent. Hotel note pads are the only space allowed. Let's see if I can strip it down and tighten it up to learn something. Improving my skill of weird fiction.

2.) Casual Friday

20150805_105446[1]

Johnny woke up dead. Yet, there he was, standing in front of the bathroom mirror, sticking a band-aid over the clean .38 caliber hole in his forehead. Checking himself over slowly, he had straight vision, good hearing, talking wasn’t any harder than before. A pinch hurt. No pulse. No pulse…

“What the hell?” he thought, “How am I alive? I mean, moving?”

Johnny found the super glue in the junk drawer. He began to use it, putting the back of his head together

“There we go. I’ll wear a hat.”

None of the other detectives in the office would notice. It’s casual Friday.

(Author’s notes) Washington D.C: August 4th, 2015.

This was an expansion off of a saying from old mob movies or cop movies where the bad guy threatens the good guy to, “cool it or you’re gonna wake up dead. Ya hear me?” Well, I thought, what if someone did wake up, and they were dead. Johnny, I suppose, is un-dead? A detective they can’t kill cause he’s already dead. But I’m so sick and tired of Vampires and Wearwolfs and Zombies painted like the past fifty years or more of their concept history. Who says a Zombie has to be lethargic and eat people? I don’t know. Why are Vampires all rich and well off with terrific abs? I can’t wait for a Vampire or super hero who has to work nine to five. Johnny here has to. He still needs to afford rent because he is conscious and alert and worrisome about his future.

One comment on “2.) Casual Friday

  1. Pingback: 50th-ish Post special: On writing well, learning and favorites. | Rough Drift

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 7, 2015 by in fiction and tagged , , , .
