Rough Drift

"Small" writing challenges for my small writing talent. Hotel note pads are the only space allowed. Let's see if I can strip it down and tighten it up to learn something. Improving my skill of weird fiction.

6.) Victory!

20150811_093647[1]

Skin tinted green beneath his Rolex. The second hand fell off. Nobody can tell a fake from five feet. A resume hung inside the coat breast pocket, too wide to fall through the torn liner. His right big toe played with a hole, the sock damp from the bathroom. His left foot in pain, the insole missing. He ate oatmeal that morning, his stomach hurt. It was all he had. All of these problems were no problem. He felt great on the inside. He wouldn’t have to live in the car much longer, he got the job.

(Authors note’s) August 11th, 2015: Toronto, Ontario Canada. Sheraton Four-Points. (100 words)
This was shaved slightly from the actual written page to fit the 100 words exactly. I was so close to begin with. I had found the 100wordstory.com page and found how similar it was to my concept. However I vary from 75 to 400 words. It’s still considered flash.

I sat looking at this small pad of paper. I liked it’s graphic imprint on the page, almost like the most microscopic graph paper you ever saw. I had only slept perhaps five hours. We didn’t get to the hotel until two in the morning and the sunlight crept in around the shade, reflecting to the sides of the wall effectively doing nothing. So i was looking at my shirt hanging in the closet, thinking about how things were degrading. My threads were showing on some articles of clothing and should be replaced. Then I thought about it. How people have to wear that. How can they get out of it? My dad had a twelve dollar Rolex once. Bought in D.C. on K and 12th street. The metal reacted with his skin. I threw it in with a guy trying to get out of that state.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 11, 2015 by in fiction and tagged , .
