Rough Drift

"Small" writing challenges for my small writing talent. Hotel note pads are the only space allowed. Let's see if I can strip it down and tighten it up to learn something. Improving my skill of weird fiction.

12.) Father favors.

20150831_084933[1]

Why would he want to doubt me? I’m the one with the white collar and a bible in my pocket. He’s got expensive sneakers and from someone else’s pocket, a new iPhone. I only asked him to pick up a small package, you see. For my congregation, you see. I told him I couldn’t go into the bar and get it, not in these clothes. He knew. I offered him a twenty, but when he returned holding the box, he asked for forty or he would take off with it. A delightfully shrewd punk that could at least come up with a plan. Good. He wouldn’t be a total waste of my time. I gave him a hundred- told him to stick around and help with the Lord’s work. He wasn’t that dumb. They’ll stick around where the money is easy. Just give me a job and I’ll make sure someone else shows up on the cameras. I tell ya, a hundred bucks and a sucker, and I can get anything done in this town.

(Author’s note) August, 30th 2015: Home. (176 words)

I went to bed thinking how I didn’t post anything recently. Well, I’m off work this week so I don’t have the time in a hotel room like usual. I grabbed a note pad from my night stand and wrote something. (It was from an Albuquerque hotel) My dwelling idea continued on a criminal ring involving one guy, a contact, and a different disposable slacker common thief for every job they pulled. The fake priest angle is very useful. This is one of the small ideas that has legs to it for possibly something larger. My mind keeps going.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 31, 2015 by in crime, fiction and tagged , , .
