Rough Drift

"Small" writing challenges for my small writing talent. Hotel note pads are the only space allowed. Let's see if I can strip it down and tighten it up to learn something. Improving my skill of weird fiction.

21.) The Red Evening Ritual.

14436291490051262307923

My special guest relaxed upon meeting the tip of the argument. He understood it was a special evening. In the last century, a full and large blood red moon has appeared five times-a fact lost on my guest. Each and every time it brought surprise to the selected. Tonights guest is a man who worked so hard in his life to achieve greatness. The same hard work led to his selection. A greatness recognized by his family and friends and by those who are attempting the same in their own business. Building an empire based upon unrewarded blood of his workers can achieve so much, and reward with recognition; such as tonight.

I withdrew the argument from his neck and cleaned it’s length to the tip. I swore to an old aristocrat, who wouldn’t live to see tonight’s moon, that I would continue the ever important work. He handed over a very old engraved knife in return. Another guest meets their fate on every night of a full blood moon. It has always been. It will always be. Reach the pinnacle of success through horrid abuses of the people and you too could be my next honored guest. Five times last century. The new greatness for this man? He is the first of the new century.

(Author’s notes) September 30th, 2015: Houston, TX.

I was working. I thought of this on the way out of Cincinnati, after a layover. My kids are getting excited for Halloween-evident on the phone lately. I kept thinking how the red super moon eclipse would have been perfect if it were just a few weeks later. Could we imagine what weirdness in history would have become of such an event on Halloween? I thought about weirdness during special events separated by decades. I wonder what stranger out there does strange things only during strange events like this. Would that make a good detective story? Trying to find the red moon killer? I’m not good at detective styles yet. At least I don’t think so.

enjoy.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2015 by in crime, fiction, Murder, ritual and tagged , , , , .
