Rough Drift

"Small" writing challenges for my small writing talent. Hotel note pads are the only space allowed. Let's see if I can strip it down and tighten it up to learn something. Improving my skill of weird fiction.

39.) Pragmatic Heroes

20160126_140443

“My teenage son would go crazy over this,” said the tall customer, “but I’m not sure it’s really for me.”

The Salesman scratched his chin, like all businessmen do, and nodded in agreement, “Too audacious?”

“Not enough. Citizens won’t know I’m important and move out of my way. Besides, for the price, I’m not so sure it will accomplish what I need a work vehicle to do.” The tall customer crossed his arms, standing rather imposingly.

The salesman edged past, accustomed to customers with strong will, and moved over to the open window, reaching in, “I see where you’re coming from, not literally but figuratively. Have you considered the extra benefits package deal-X can provide?”

He clicked a console switch next to the defroster button. Four pops were audible in the show room. The customer raised an eyebrow.

“For example, you won’t have to shovel the driveway after those nasty blizzards.” Said The Salesman, pointing to four small nozzles visible near the ground.

“Is the all-wheel-drive that good?”

“Yes, but I’m talking about the flame throwers. All sides and they’re EPA certified so you can work in the city limits. Individual aim, and you can free anyone else trapped in the snow as well.”

Not known for being surprised, ever, the tall customer asked, “Between you and me, I didn’t know about these particular extras. Isn’t that in the upgrade package?”

“Between you and me, this package is only for this sales month. Crime season is near and we know what kind of value this is to you and your business.”

The tall customer uncrossed his arms and stood with his hands on his hips, taking up more space, “Still including threat tracking and Bluetooth? My utility belt has to communicate with the vehicle.”

The Salesman, impervious to imposing stance and language replied, “Yes. And this deal is only available to non-profit 5990b and registered heroes.”

“Excellent” said Mr. Hotness, “Let’s talk financing. Blizzak is on his way to town.”

Another successful sale by The Salesman rolls out from The Halls of Just Rides.

(Author’s notes) January 26th, 2016: Cedar Rapids, IA.

Cold outside. The wind makes a low whirring noise againnst the window and I only see leafless trees and snow, plus cruddy streets. I deliberately sat down at the note pad and jjustt began to think. I didn’t plan anything all day and in fact, my mind is full of other plotting story things for the big progect. So, in doing this I took what’s outside and ran with it. I tend to become a bit whimsical and bit nuts when I do that. Enter an important man with special needs looking to buy a car for work.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 26, 2016 by in comedy, crime, crime fighting, fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
