Rough Drift

"Small" writing challenges for my small writing talent. Hotel note pads are the only space allowed. Let's see if I can strip it down and tighten it up to learn something. Improving my skill of weird fiction.

What to do with these stories?

 

My end goal of this blog is to learn by doing. To learn enough to think up stories, write them and, hopefully, have done that well enough people will like them and ask for more. I really have not had much feedback except for likes and follows and the occasional friend indicating rather dark over/under tones and nods of that’s cool. Mystery and adventure with somewhat grizzly or uncomfortable backstories, or just a terrible story overall, might predominate but within all of my posts, I am trying to make some kind of story happen.  Writing larger projects and maintaining time for family, work, exercise and the like is another goal and one that I need to balance before I can jump into a larger story. Before that, I do need to learn much more about the editing and re-writing.

So, what about this next step? Now that I’m able to throw together some sizeable rough drafts, I should revisit the whole thing and kill all entries with a big hammer until they are suitable for life beyond a blog post. At that point, I’ll pick the best ones and form a collection for download distribution. Who knows where that will take me except for final re-writes and edits. If I count only the numbers stories, I have 60+ entries and at least 20,000 words on hand. Once I reach 100, I should have nearly 35,000 words. 50k including the author’s notes that accompany each one. That’s a good body of work to choose from and re-work for a collection. Meanwhile, I’ll still make new entries. Terrible and good.

I might have good stories and might have an ability to tell them; however, I’m not clear about it and I’m very much relying on MS Word and the free version of Grammarly to tell me where I’m wrong and what to fix. Not much correction comes from my own brain other than how the story reads a month later after posting – then some revision as I feel I need it. That bothers me because there is a limit to what I can accomplish with what I presently know. Time and time again, I hear about an editor that made a manuscript completely fresh and amazing. I do wonder what famous authors we have today that submit legendarily terrible manuscripts – stuff my High-School English teachers would hate. When it’s my turn, I’d like to give them something decent and not a horrible train-wreck. I’d like to at least know what they’re talking about.

Folks, I need a solid education in editing for creative writing. A self-paced online class would be nice but It’s hard to find anything that’s not also catering to non-fiction, journalism, literature or other. I have no desire to enter the realm of reporting on political issues or essays on today’s events. I want to write these fictional stories. that’s all. I might be too demanding out of what I expect to find; I might be showcasing a naivety in what I must learn; but if anyone out there knows what directions in learning the editing/re-writing I need  next after reading these stories, oh do let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

