Rough Drift

"Small" writing challenges for my small writing talent. Hotel note pads are the only space allowed. Let's see if I can strip it down and tighten it up to learn something. Improving my skill of weird fiction.

Hiatus has arrived; expect blog delays.

I previously discussed a coming hiatus with preparation for a job interview. This turned out successful and I begin that job in August. The issue is company training.  It is intensive and two months of my time. The impact is where I must shed other distractions and other projects that are not part of the flying career, namely, the volume of writing and this blog.

The writing for this year as been great and impeded as well. I have several larger projects like we all do, but the big one that took my brain this year had some issues with the general plot. I’m not a plotter or pantster, I’m a bit of both. I have a general plot outline to tie in the elements that make the story into a believable story progression. I fixed the last plot hole and the next day I get that interview request. Since then, I have not been able to sit down and get to work on the awesome brain eating beast that it is. The flying job is the priority.

I will still write flash fiction on my study breaks. I have a big stack of Muji A5 notebooks (fabulous paper and inexpensive I might add) for study but some will  be for the stories. Each page holds 280 words of writing. Do two pages and I should be set for word count after editing on the screen. I’ll write those stories down but posting anything up on here will take a few more hours every day that I have something and I cannot afford that time one bit. Into the notebook they will go and when I am finished with the training I will begin to put them up here. Starting near the end of September, expect the floodgates to open up a little. October should be a huge month for posts on this blog and will be a great warm-up for November itself. NaNoMo, and I will finally have the ability to do it without problems from company recurrent training. The big project can come out and get finished, well, at least the messy first draft.

Larger projects. Heh. It is amazing to see an idea grow larger than intended. Trilogy posts 15, 16, 17 and a prequel to it, 63, is one great idea that came from a roll of dice and I’m planning on episodes from them in the future. Post 55 could equally be episodic, also from the dice and oddly the same theme came up, but I’m working on how to utilize the young couple’s adventures into their own wider story. My wife really liked it and that’s all I need to pursue that one. 13 and 46 and probably 4 are tied together into an idea I’ve processed for nearly 5 years now and have the direction I want but it’s too involved until I get the other projects out of the way, having learned more of the process from them. My post last year about NaNoWriMo a bust for me has the opening of a big project that has good legs to it, I just need to understand juvenile grief management. that one comes next year.

Neither of these ideas is the big project of this year – the one that seized my mind on new years day, for some unknown reason, and I lost sleep over two days from that one. I’ve for 6 chapters down before the interview and I’m patiently waiting for my chance to pour it all from a bucket onto the keyboard. Just you wait. There’s a trilogy potential in this one, but that’s easy to say when I haven’t accomplished anything close. I’m just really excited for the potential and my chance at it’s realization.

Leave a Reply

