Rough Drift

"Small" writing challenges for my small writing talent. Hotel note pads are the only space allowed. Let's see if I can strip it down and tighten it up to learn something. Improving my skill of weird fiction.

71.) Afterlove

 

Down the tracks she cuts, staring straight at me through long hair. Bags under her eyes. Not giving a damn. My wrecked vocal chords plead with her to stop cutting as she slides into a hot bath. I stood; looking down at the water she hopes will turn red. Disappointment.

“None of this matters anymore, babe.”

She won’t hear it and I get the finger again. Every day we linger through this. She will someday forget the blade and bathwater as I forgot my rope long ago. She cries for us again. I won’t move forward without my eternal love.

(Author’s notes)

This very dark 100-word story is something that initially came from my Halloween side and is also a submission to The Drabble blog site. As we enter October, we can either have fun with monster stories or creepy and gothic tails of Poe and Lovecraft or something else. I wanted to go one way of realization but the characters shifted the ending away from what I wanted. Plus, I got close to that line again, where I think I might be doing something wrong by writing into some disturbing emotional territory. That’s a signal I may be going in the right direction because it pulls out deep emotion I can play with and use within the piece. Almost self-generating at that point.

I’ve had, I think, two submissions published on The Drabble blog, both not really seeing the views or likes the rest usually see. Perhaps this one will be different. They are receiving more and more submissions since their start in early 2015 and since they just started publishing quarterly collections, I hope their readership flourishes. There are some seriously good 100-word stories out there, each one proving how hard it can be to really come up with something special.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 6, 2016 by in dark fiction, love story, short short story, Uncategorized and tagged , , .
