Rough Drift

"Small" writing challenges for my small writing talent. Hotel note pads are the only space allowed. Let's see if I can strip it down and tighten it up to learn something. Improving my skill of weird fiction.

75.) Fresh hotel.

20161130_0925241

A usual assignment in a nice hotel with options nearby is how they explained my accommodations. I checked in with the attractive hotel staff who aparently never age. During my stay, I like to sleep in a little, swim a little, have a little room service, dine nicely at the restaurant, collect club member points. The assignment, the reason I’m here, comes later when they call me at night. After sunset business, after the regular business, is good business, but like any late night job it’s not always perfect. This hotel has an issue.

Cat box. Really, it smells a bit of catbox. Not so noticeable when I’m sniffing around and trying to find it. No. It’s always when I give up that it hits me. A surprise and out of nowhere pop to the nose just like myself; when I get that call to go into the night and conduct a business meeting, fix problems, make a client’s mistakes go away. This odor suddenly  visits and won’t go away. Come to think of it, the entire fifth floor smells a bit strange every time I step off the elevator. There’s always a point where an entire problem can’t be lived with or mended but must go away. I’m familiar with that style of work; it’s why my price includes a luxury rental car with a big trunk.

I couldn’t take it any longer. I couldn’t do my morning push-ups without my nose picking up the smell on every dip. I never found that source. It must be a fog from everywhere. I’m supposed to stay for a week but I couldn’t take it. I finally invoked the fifth clause of my contract – accommodation requirements. I left. I made one phone call and that was that. They could have checked out the place before my arrival. They could have done their homework before hiring an on-call contracted “repair man,” but I suppose they felt I wasn’t worth it. I’ll talk to them later. Perhaps my details weren’t clear enough. After all, If you want to hire me to fix your detailed problems, you gotta pay attention to the detail’s problems.

(Author’s notes) Nov. 27th, 2016. Yes, my hotel room had that problem. It did smell like that and exactly that way. the character in this story had a job to do and I had no idea what his job would be until it just came out. Odd how I seem to gravitate towards the mysterious and shady worlds.

Yes, my hotel room had that problem. It did smell like that and exactly that way. the character in this story had a job to do and I had no idea what his job would be until it just came out. Odd how I seem to gravitate towards the mysterious and shady worlds.

Leave a Reply

