Rough Drift

"Small" writing challenges for my small writing talent. Hotel note pads are the only space allowed. Let's see if I can strip it down and tighten it up to learn something. Improving my skill of weird fiction.

Don’t worry, I’ll be back. I need more time.

20170626_162413.jpg

Cancer is the theme today. Other themes include selling a house, buying a house, moving quite a bit of stuff in between said houses, recurrent company training, and cancer. Did I mention cancer? Yes? Oh, well then I’ll move on to cancer instead.

We beat a minor and small version of it once this year and a second, unrelated type, apparently was in the house so we are about to fight that as well. The only week of vacation I could have as a new employee occurred in February and that whole week was spent going back to the doctor’s office to discover biopsy results. Just like a walk on the beach that a vacation should be, I promise.

Not.

I’m glad I work at a place that takes care of its people, new or old. I’m glad we have doctors today that make medicine from the nineteen-eighties look like witch doctor buffoonery. I’m glad I have the opportunity to provide for the family and my little girls will soon have a cul-de-sac to ride their little bicycles within.

I’m not sure what my company needs from me during my upcoming and now forever annual recurrent education sessions. I need to fly the simulator a few times. I need to be in a classroom for a day. I need to be somewhat prepared with the base knowledge I learned only a year before, yet without time to constantly review. I need that done and over with.

The house and the move will happen shortly after that. My forty-three-year-old muscles have no idea what’s coming for them.

It’s not my wife’s cancer, it’s our cancer. Oh, my. So our cancer will be fought throughout all of that with, imagine this, only a single I.V. once a week for a few weeks straight. That’s it. Then, we monitor bloodwork for the rest of her life. Add another I.V. when necessary. If it’s just that simple to obtain a normal energetic life, we can handle that. No slow drip in a clean room with crying over hair styles.

But, I need it all done and over with. I need it all gone.

My pencil and keyboard and imagination are stunted until It’s finished. A year ago in January, I started an epic story that exploded onto paper in November and it won’t quit. Even now various key locations, problems, points, solutions, and outcomes are spinning from time to time without any relief on to paper; all of which contribute to the world built and cinematic story-scape. There is no time for that writing, only study and mortgage science. Cancer science. I’m in the middle of shoveling five tons of landscaping gravel. Preparing to sell the place. That’s the free-time I have. That’s my creativity.

So when It’s all back, I can bring to all of you interested folks more of my usually darkly hued visions of flash fiction and short writing that might resemble more scenes and not say much at it’s core, but that’s what I’m writing to learn more and then I can say something and make things coherent. That’s my learning. I’ll get better at it when I get more time. We all say that don’t we.

See you soon.

 

-Rob

Leave a Reply

